Happy Birthday!

July 25, 2008… K2 is 8 years old.

The last couple of weeks have been hitting me with new and overwhelming feelings. This is my first born child. The child I never thought I would have who was conceived with massive amounts of help from white lab coats.

Today I look at this little girl and realize, she isn’t little anymore! She is gaining independence, she is amazing, funny and responsible. I can see in her parts of the woman she is growing into. It scares me. It delights me. I look at her, and I am AMAZED and AWE-STRUCK. This little lady is MINE. It’s like being punched in the chest and being unable to breath for a few moments.

Our tradition has been to spend the actual Birthday one on one with Mommy. We do something special. In the past this may have included an outing to McDonalds and Build A Bear. This year, K2 has declared she wants to go shopping… at the mall… YIKES. This is already happening?

The eighth Birthday marks another milestone in our life. K2 will be gifted with her American Girl Doll. The girls all have Bitty Babies, but that actual AG Doll doesn’t arrive until the girls reach 8. The past year has been spent talking about which doll and accessories, etc… K2 decided she wanted the Girl of the Year, Mia. I ordered her a couple weeks ago, as a complete starter set and we ordered matching PJ’s for K2 and Mia. The package arrived nine days ago… I carefully opened all the boxes and gazed at the wonders within. I cannot imagine anything harder at this point than having that package hiding in my closet while I am dieing with anticipation of giving it to her. Being able to give my daughter this doll is better than receiving one myself, and I am quite a doll collector. Growing up, I was not able to have such precious things, so this AG Doll represents many things to us. She will be getting the doll first thing in the morning so Mia can accompany us to the AG Movie, Kit Kittredge before lunch and shopping.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Happy Birthday Princess!

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Kids and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Birthday!

  1. Tenille says:

    Awww! Happy birthday, K2!

  2. suzy2110 says:

    I hope you both enjoy her birthday- what a lovely post! I think I am already starting to feel the same way about my little guys, who are both quite a bit younger. 🙂

  3. I notice how much mine have grown most when they fall asleep all sprawled out on the couch and I pick them up to carry them to bed. The stairs are getting tougher to manuever each month that goes by!

    Birthday at the mall. In a few years, you will drop her off with her friends and have to stay 200′ away.

  4. AG is a great birthday gift and one that she will cherish forever. Not only are they fun to play with but they also have great books to help girls cope with growing up – as she gets older!

  5. Meg says:

    Happy Birthday Sweet Girl! I hope you had a great day. The pics are beautiful, I am teary eyed! Thank you for sharing your special photos…

Leave a Reply

