Can We Survive 30 Days?

While eating out tonight with Oregon Dad and K-Man, I suggested (in a don’t argue with me manner) that we make a pledge to NOT EAT OUT FOR 30 DAYS. This means, no work lunches or quickie-mart stops. Nothing except good old homemade food.

Oregon Dad just stared at me, like the crazy woman my new driver license makes me look like. Perhaps the photo isn’t far off.

We are doing this for a couple of reasons. 1) I need to lose 20 lbs. 2) Oregon Dad proclaims a desire to lose many more pounds. 3) We spend a FORTUNE eating out, bringing home pizza, Oregon Dad’s work lunch (and breakfast) and his quick mart stops. 4) We eat entirely healthy and natural AT HOME, so why are we putting crap into our bodies when not at home? 5) We set a Wii Fit challenge that each of us will lose 5 lbs in a month… that’s not going to happen unless the eating out stops.

Now, if I can just convince him to give up the ice cream. This man makes it VERY difficult to NOT gain weight.

It’s officially ON starting tomorrow until August 23. That’s probably a couple of days over 30… shhhh… don’t tell Oregon Dad. I get a pass on Friday for lunch with K2 because its her special Birthday outing. Other than that… we are brown bagging it and home making it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Anyone care to join us with the THIRTY DAY Challenge?

On another note…

Photobucket

I am constantly on the look-out for a natural alternative to Kool-Aid. Let me just say, I LOVE Kool-Aid (but only the red Tropical punch flavor). I could drink it by the quart. When I was pregnant, it was the only liquid I could manage to keep down, so we have a special relationship. That said, I haven’t purchased Kool-Aid in at least a year. K3 CAN’T have it… no red dye (no dye of any kind preferably) and no artificial flavorings or preservatives.

For the most part, we drink WATER. And lots of it. I carry my Klean Kanteen EVERYWHERE. The kids can have one cup each of milk and juice a day. The rest is water. But come on, sometimes you want a treat. There is nothing like a tall, icey glass of the red stuff on a hot summer afternoon.

Enter Clif Kids Splashers Drink Mix. One packet makes 8 ounces and costs about 89 cents. No where near as cost effective as Kool-Aide, but then fake stuff comes cheap. I brought home the tropical punch flavor, of course.

The ratings were good in the house. The flavor is much lighter than that of Kool-Aid and the color is not as intense (read: less staining capability!). K3 LOVED it and the other kids agreed this was a tasty option. I thought it was a bit closer to flavored water than the old flavor I was after, but with a lot less sugar and all natural ingredients… I’m a goner. We will be bringing home the other flavors to try out in the near future.

We will also be trying out Go Stix by Celestial Seasonings. These come in a box of 8 packets for about $4.00. The website also proclaims “Gluten Free”.

It’s great to have the option of tossing these little packets into the lunch box or backpack for a hike. I will have to devise a recycling plan for the Clif Kid packets, as they resemble a juice pack and are not recyclable. Perhaps I see a Clif Kids pencil pouch in our future.

Be Well. ๐Ÿ™‚

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family, GF Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Can We Survive 30 Days?

  1. Not that I am trying to look for loop holes in your plan, but bringing pizza home wouldn’t be eating out…would it?

    ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Hubby enjoyed your comment. All you men think alike.

    I assured him that this was a healthier eating thing and a saving money thing. So take home pizza’s are definitely off limits. I can feed the crew with home made food for under $10 at dinner, take and bake pizza runs at least $20. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I see you’re not jumping on the challenge either? Scared?

  3. Like I have ANY say (or influence) on what/when we eat.

    If I did, there wouldn’t have been a spinach pizza fiasco around here!

  4. Kelsey says:

    That is awesome, good luck!!!

  5. Meg says:

    We are in! But I have to get to the grocery store first, else we will only have cereal to eat…So, I can’t start my challenge just yet.

Leave a Reply

