Things I Love… Cookies and Milk

Warning– This post is NOT GLUTEN FREE… reading may induce GI symptoms. ๐Ÿ™‚ Don’t forgot to enter to win the AWESOME RECYCLED BACK TO SCHOOL PACKAGE.

Photobucket

On our most recent shopping trip to Whole Foods, Oregon Dad was along for the ride. This is usually a bit disconcerting for me, as I could spend hours (literally) roaming the aisles at Whole Foods, reading labels and checking out new products. Sometimes I park myself at the customer service counter to browse the Gluten Free Product List and question the staff.

While meandering our way through the store, K3 (who is with us, since this is primarily HER shopping trip) spies each sample pod and inquires if “that one is a safe food?”. Sadly, many of the foods out are not, but that doesn’t stop Oregon Dad from having a nibble here and there.

We came across 365 All Natural Sandwich Cremes (like those Oreos… only better). Oregon Dad tried one out, then decided he needed a potty break. K3 and I headed to the Gluten Free Bakery/Freezer section to locate some bagels. When Oregon Dad found us, he was toting a box of the cookies. Evidently, he decided they were too good to resist.

Today, I tried them. Even though I knew my belly would cry afterward… I still have to consume gluten so that my biopsy is accurate at the end of the month. Oh my goodness, they were MMMMMMM…. Good.

Now if I can just find a Gluten Free variety… There is NOTHING like a glass of ice cold (Organic) milk and a couple (or 6) tasty, all natural, creme cookies. I cannot even consider putting an Oreo to my mouth anymore and they used to be one of my favorites. Now, I just taste wax and chemicals if I try to eat one. Bleh.

For my GF girl who saw Mommy eating cookies today, we busted out the Pacific Natural Foods Almond Milk and some snickerdoodles from Enjoy Life. I REALLY need to try out this chocolate chip cookie recipe from Ginger Lemon Girl.

Today’s Green Tip- Don’t take your husband shopping with you… he will buy more than you have on your list. ๐Ÿ™‚ Just Kidding… sort of. Get rid of all the crud in your food. Do you really want to eat things with names you cannot pronounce? Didn’t think so. These cookies are proof that being Healthy Green can taste familiar too!

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in GF Shopping, Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Things I Love… Cookies and Milk

  1. Kelsey says:

    haha Those look great!!

  2. Ugh, I wish we had a Whole Foods here. There are 2 in the smaller town I moved from.

    I wholeheartedly agree about the hubby thing. He always goes WAY off list ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. asdmommy says:

    Wait, there is an alternative GF/CF for oreos, and they are GOOD! I can’t remember what brand, tho…think they are Kinnickinick maybe? They come in oreo and vanilla. They are really, really good, as in eat the whole package in one sitting good. Expensive, of course, but if you just can’t live without the oreos, here you go. I’ll have to double check next time I’m at whole foods, but I’m pretty sure it’s Kinnickinick’s. YUM!

  4. Brooke says:

    better than oreos??? i don’t believe it!! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. I can’t remember the last time we went shopping together. We are both pretty good about stauing on list for food. we just may come home with a new TV or a refrigerator if we go together.

  6. gfcfmom says:

    I second ASD mommy…there is a gluten free alternative!!! Kinnickkinnick makes them. They are delicious and really quite a good GFCF knock off of real oreos. Here is the link:
    http://www.amazon.com/Kinnikinnick-Cookie-Ktoos-Chocolate-Cream/dp/B00127DKWU/ref=cm_cr_pr_pb_t

Leave a Reply

