A Day From Hell… Or Can Mommy Take a Sick Day Please?

This Mama has THE FLU… you know the one they give out vaccines for.  The very vaccine I didn’t get. 

Body aches, fever, chills, congestion, sore throat, crankiness galore… I’ve got it all.  Can I just crawl into my bed and sleep until its done?

Uh… nope, I’m a Mom.  That means packing lunches, picking kids up, ensuring chores and homework get done, playing referee to their fights, making dinner, answering a billion silly questions, refilling juice and milk cups, picking up dropped napkins, handing out vitamins and antibiotics to the walking pneumonia case and going on with everyday life. 

Jeepers life is grand. 

At least I was able to stay home from the ball game… Oregon Dad handled that one.  I am not in the mood to sit out in the damp Oregon weather for two hours watching eight years old hit balls and run in circles.  See… told you I was cranky.

To round out the perfection of our day… Little Critter has been at the daycare the last couple of days because I agreed to do a little bit of contract work for my former employer… just three mornings a week for six hours (which means 4 hours of daycare for little one) and only until school is out.  Well… evidently the return to daycare means “I can be as naughty as I want to” in Little Critter’s book.  No joke… the kid is trying every last nerve I have. 

Then waiting in my mailbox this afternoon was an envelope in my ex-Mother in Law’s scrawl… bleh… what does she want.  Best yet, it only had my first name on the front, like she couldn’t be bothered to assign me a last name. I know that she knows my last name as they took it upon themselves to fill out my ex husbands divorce papers and everything since then and its on my voicemail which she gets at least once a week.   It’s just another indicator of her rudeness. 

See, I’m cranky.  Better hurry these kids to bed so I can take a bubble bath.  Too bad I’m out of hot cocoa and too tired to make the homemade kind or I’d have some with Buttershots… mmmm.  Oh, wait, I have no taste buds currently.  Scratch that idea.

Blogged with the Flock Browser

Tags: , , , , , , ,

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Day From Hell… Or Can Mommy Take a Sick Day Please?

  1. jenefur says:

    Get better girlie!

  2. bananas says:

    Ugh, sounds horrid. I hope you get feeling better soon!!

Leave a Reply

