Target Bags

For every little bit that I detest Wal-mart, I love Target just as much. The last several times I have visited my eyes have been attracted to the reusable tote bag that had the Target Bullseye all over it. Believe it or not… I probably glanced at the bag 2 or 3 times before I actually realized it was made from recycled Target shopping bags. Ahem. We’ll say it’s because the kids are always distracting me or Oregon Dad is rushing me along.

Yesterday I was at Target without Oregon Dad so I bought one! Hehehe. Actually, I went to Target with the intention of purchasing one… I have a plan for it. The display had the bags and Newsweek magazines. Evidently… if you purchase a $5 Newsweek, remove the cover, use it as an envelope to mail in your target plastic baggies… you will receive a voucher for a FREE recycle tote. Now… I was buying the bag anyway… but I went ahead and got the magazine as well.

Photobucket Photobucket Photobucket

Now, here’s the good part. I made it to the register with just a few purchases. (This is quite amazing for me in Target.) In addition to the lovely recycled tote I also had the prescription I picked up for TeenGirl (my primary reason for the stop today), two $4 t-shirts, a package of recycled printer paper and the magazine. I was busy talking to Little Kritter in the cart (who was bouncing her Klean Kanteen and stuffed jelly fish around), when I turned back around the cashier was stuffing my recycled tote bag into a plastic bag!!!! OMG! I almost laughed. Seriously. I decided to let it slide just this once… after all… if I didn’t get the plastic baggies what would I send in to get my voucher for another tote? I just spent $5 on the darn magazine!!! I really hope that the very young cashiers learn that these tote bags are for the purpose of putting your purchases in!

That reminds me of my stop at Fred Meyer the other night… I didn’t have my totes with me and was picking up some terra cotta pots and flowers for the kids Mothers Day projects for the Grandmas and Ballet Teachers. I had a several little items… the cashier gave me a funny look when I asked her not to bag them… just stick the stuff in the little pots. She said, “well do you want boxes for the plants?” I replied, “No Thanks”.

It is a whole new mindset and it will take people a while to learn… we really don’t need all these baggies! Afterall… what are we going to do with them! My next mission is to convince hubby that we should get some of those super sized totes at Costco and leave the cardboard boxes there. He likes to bring home the boxes because we use them to store our over abundance of recycling… so that one might not change.

Today’s Green Tip- Get yourself some tote bags. Nearly every store has them now. If you want something really fun to carry with you at the mall and for daily errands, check out these Terra-Totes.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Being Green, Kids and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Target Bags

  1. jenefur says:

    I have been using mine as trash bags instead of buying them. Every day I set one up on my counter and as the day progresses, they fill up. Also good for dirty diapers… instead of buying the Diaper Genie, we got the Diaper Champ and you can use whatever bags you have in them.

    That being said, I still have a large backstock of these bags, so when I do buy my reusable ones, what will I do with my trash? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. When you get yourself a reusable tote bag… try some biobags for your trash. http://www.ecoproducts.com

    And for those diapers… check out gDiapers. They rock. Still like a disposable… only way better! Only the covers are reusable. It is finally the answer for peeps that just can’t do the cloth nappies. http://www.gdiapers.com. (Cuz disposables stay in the landfill for a gazillion years!) If you have a public sewer system, you can flush the gDiapers right down the drain! Yay (they should be septic safe as well… but I’d go for the compost pile first!)

  3. asdmommy says:

    That’s so cool – I had no idea Target was doing that! I’m with you on the walmart vs. target thing too.

    I need to change my tags so I find you on tagsurfer more often, friend! Thanks for adding me to your blog roll, I’m going to go do the same.

    I’m off to Target – will look for the magazine and the bags.

    ๐Ÿ™‚ D

  4. xtjade says:

    It does take some time, but it is great when cashiers get the hang of being “bag conscious”.

    On occasion when I forget my bags, most of the time the cashiers will ask me if I just want my stuff in my cart instead of going into auto-bag mode. It is a recent change, but every little bit makes a difference.

    Happy Day ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Meg says:

    That is pretty funny about the cashier putting your bag in a plastic bag! I was at Target yesterday as well- and I still have not seen any of this…hmmm. I was in the check out lane from hell, waited forever and I am constantly telling the cashier-ALL THE TIME- “I don’t need a bag for that”. I do not need a gallon of milk put in a bag- by itself. I do not need the giant package of TP put in a bag- by itself. You get what I’m sayin’!

Leave a Reply

