Birthday Week Has Ended!

Today’s Green Tip- Use the sunshine as a natural heating/cooling/lighting system in your home. That is, open your blinds to allow light in. When its hot outside, keep the shades drawn on sun-facing windows to reduce heat and on cold days keep those blinds wide open to allow the sun to heat up your house. This works great in our Super Energy Efficient home, If the sun is shining on a warm day and we don’t lower the shades… it will quickly get too warm inside! The kids are getting much better about opening their blinds in the morning and not turning the lights on. They are on the East side of the house with a hill and trees, so the suns heat isn’t too much of an issue. Look into options like tubular skylights for dark closets, halls and bathrooms if your budget allows. This will provide awesome light at all times of the day without adding heat or the risk of fading your fabrics.

Photobucket

Mmmm. Look at that gluten free chocolate cake. Tasty. I used Bob’s Red Mill GF Cake Mix. While I was mixing the batter up, I had some concerns. There was a bean flour odor and the batter wasn’t yummy. Yes… I’ll admit it, I love to lick the bowl.

Once the cake baked, it was fabulous! It was moist and there wasn’t even a hint of bean flour taste or smell.

The frosting was home-made and while I don’t usually measure as I am making it… I did this time so I could give a general idea of how to make it.

Frosting:
1/2 C. Vanilla Soy Milk
4 C. Powdered Sugar
1 tsp. GF Vanilla
1/3 C. Earth Balance Margarine or Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese Spread

Soften butter and beat until smooth, slowly add milk alternating with powdered sugar until its all incorporated. Add Vanilla. Continue beating. The frosting should form soft peaks on the beater, if it doesn’t add a little more powder sugar, 1/8 cup at a time. If the frosting is too thick, add milk 1 tsp at a time until desired texture is reached. We really like this made with Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese! To make it chocolate, simply add 1/4-1/2 cup cocoa powder (depending on your taste).

Here is a finished picture of the fruit juice jello jigglers I posted about previously. They were tasty!

Photobucket

The kids all had a blast! Mummy is glad birthday week is finally over! Happy #6 Little Princess!

Photobucket

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Birthday Week Has Ended!

  1. Balconygal says:

    Awww. OK, the cupcakes on the cake are great but WHY, OH WHY, hadn’t fruit pieces on a toothpick ever occurred to me? I shall be making picks tomorrow and from this day forward. Or week forward. If I get around to it. But if I do get around to it I’ll consider it a wonderful polka dot thing.

  2. Meg says:

    YUM! I am starving right now and that looks delicious. If you weren’t so far away I’d hire you to cater all my family functions. You’re used to cooking for big families…you’d have no problem…
    Your daughter is beautiful, what a precious picture!

  3. Balconygal- my take on things is… give them a “kabob”, a dip or a fun shape and the kids are bound to eat it… even if it’s something they normally wouldn’t! We like to shake things up a bit around here so the kids have something new to play with… and how easy is it to dip fruit in the cream cheese and honey dip when it’s already on a toothpick! (In this case, Tofutti Better Than Cream Cheese).

    Cheers!
    Jamie

  4. Meg… Thanks! We think she is pretty darn precious as well. Maybe I should go into the catering biz after all! Lol… believe me, the thought has crossed my mind!

  5. Hee! I LOVE this. Kid food is a hobby of mine, from lunch box creations to summer snacks and party fare. This is great inspiration.

Leave a Reply

