MIA Toothfairy

 kayleeswim.jpg

K2 has been losing teeth like crazy.  For the last week or so she has had both front teeth hanging by threads and refused to allow us to help get them out.  Finally last night I’d had enough and told Oregon Dad to yank the super lose one out. 

We placed the bloody, little tooth into a glass with water in the kithen windowsill and went to bed.  I proceded to sit in the living room with Oregon Dad, watch a movie on my laptop while he read about football (woohoo!) and around 11PM we headed to bed… THE TOOTHFAIRY FORGOT TO TAKE THAT LITTLE TOOTH AWAY.

A couple of hours later, I was awoken by a puking 3 yo for the second night in a row.  I spent a good 30 minutes with her cleaning things up and getting her resettled… THE TOOTHFAIRY STILL FORGOT THAT TOOTH.

At about 7:40 AM the kids come to my bedroom door wanting to know if they can get up… I wander into the kitchen where I was intending to start breakfast even though it was a full 20 minutes before the kids weekend wake up time (they have to stay in their rooms until 8AM on the weekends!).  K2 was eager to get her cup out of the window… then she looks and realizes there isn’t anything in it.  “Mom why didn’t the toothfairy come?”  (Mom’s trying to think quickly)… “Well she probably thought she still had 20 minutes because it isn’t 8 yet and you are still suppose to be in bed…”  K2 is a fast thinker and replies, “But Mom, she usually comes IN THE MIDDLE OF THE NIGHT.”  Mom isn’t going to be outdone by a fast talking 7 year old, so as I shoo them back to their bedrooms for 20 more minutes of quiet time I countered with, “Well, Little Critter was up last night throwing up, so the Tooth Fairy probably was waiting and you guys got up too early… go back to bed and maybe she’ll make it before 8.”

Crieky.  How did I manage this one? I am ashamed.  I am feeling like a BAD MOMMY.  The lowest of the low.

The second the girls were back in their rooms (or I should say, all three girls are in K2’s bed)… I quickly dumped the water, grabbed the little tooth and ran to my room where I located a dollar and a tube of play lipstick… dashed back to the kitchen and slid it into the glass.  By the time the girls wandered out 20 minutes later, I was snuggled in my bed next to Oregon Dad.

K2 was relieved the Tooth Fairy made it.  Mom’s wondering how much longer she will buy these stores… especially if I continue to botch it! 

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Kids and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

