A Saint Bernard For Me?

Oregon Dad and I have been seriously considering getting a St. Bernard pup for quite a while now.  Our beloved Dakota is on her last legs and part of Oregon Dad’s coping with her loss will be getting a pup to keep him busy.  Personally, I could go without, he cannot.  So we will get another dog.  My rule was that if we are getting another pup… it is going to be the one breed I have always wanted.   A Saint.  Lucky for me, Oregon Dad loves Saints as well and is in agreement. 

We finally went to meet a breeder this weekend.  It was a very exciting visit that left us both eager for our little pup.  Heck, I have even considered showing the pooch.  We will have more meetings with the breeder, introduce the kids and leave it up to them to match us with the right Saint. 

I just wish we could get one that doesn’t slobber… yeah right!  While we were visiting with the breeders pet, Oregon Dad got a big, slimy, snotty slobber all over the front of his Oregon Ducks sweatshirt.  Lucky me, I only got a little bit of non-snot like slobber!  The pooch must have really liked me! 

Even the slobber didn’t dissuade us in the knowledge that a Saint is going to be the next member of our family.

Wish me luck! 

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Saint Bernard For Me?

  1. jenefur says:

    In the course of growing up, I had THREE St. Bernards and I loved them all!! Bernice, Mumford and Max. The neighborhood kids called them the slobber dogs. I loved that slobber! It was love! And it’s so cute when they want love… they just lean against you and fall over waiting for their tummies to be rubbed. Oh how I envy you. Enjoy your new slobber dog!! (And post pix too!)

Leave a Reply

