Gluten Free Rice Dream??????

I noticed something new in the refrigerated milk section recently… a blue RICE DREAM carton. Curious, I picked it up and scoured the label. Right there on the front is an upside down triangle proclaiming “Gluten Free”. I was thrilled at this find as my daughter loves Rice Dream and doesn’t care for the other “milks” and the shelf stable kind is NOT GLUTEN FREE. We took home a carton of the vanilla Rice Dream and sure enough, K3 loves it! No more battles over “yucky milk”. Thanks to Rice Dream for finally hearing our requests for a GLUTEN FREE product. From label reading, it also appears that the Rice Dream Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert is Gluten Free… however they do not proclaim it on the packaging (at least not the carton I have!). Further research is required. Happy Cereal Mornings Again!

UPDATE**********

Thanks to Tori’s comment, I did a little reearch on Rice Dream and Gluten. The website has some conflicting information.

From the Rice Dream website

Click YOUR HEALTH, then SPECIAL DIETARY RESTRICTIONS, then GLUTEN-FREE PRODUCTS

Here is the list as of 23 May 2008

Gluten Free Products

The following products do not contain gluten:

Soy Dream Non-Dairy Beverages

* All varieties

Rice Dream Non-Dairy Frozen Desserts and Novelties

The following varieties only (pints/quarts):

* Vanilla
* Strawberry
* Cocoa Marble Fudge
* Orange Vanilla Swirl
* Carob Almond
* Neapolitan

Soy Dream Non-Dairy Frozen Desserts and Novelties

The following varieties only (pints/quarts):

* French Vanilla
* Mint Chocolate Chip
* Green Tea
* Butter Pecan
* Strawberry Swirl
* Mocha Fudge Swirl
* Vanilla Fudge Swirl
* Vanilla
* Chocolate

Rice Dream Non-Dairy Beverages

* All varieties

NOW CHECK PRODUCT FAQS UNDER RICE DREAM NON-DAIRY BEVERAGE AND YOU’LL FIND:

“Is Rice Dream Beverage a gluten free product?

No. Rice Dream Beverage is processed using a barley enzyme. Even though the barley enzyme is discarded after use, the final beverage might contain a minute residual amount (less than .002%) of barley protein.”

I wrote to the company asking for clarification on the conflicting information contained within the website. I haven’t heard back yet. Further inspection revealed that I haven’t missed any bad ingredients on the labels… they no longer list the barley enzyme that was used to make RICE DREAM Beverages. There is no warning about the possibility of any gluten and the Organic Rice Dream containers we have purchased all have the stamp “GLUTEN FREE” on them. It’s looking like nothing changed except the labeling. The company decided that they qualify legally to use that label since there is less than 20ppm of gluten in the product.

I call that misrepresentation. We have a right to know if the foods we are feeding our children may make them sick. For more information, read my updated post – Rice Dream and Gluten.

Advertisements

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in GF Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gluten Free Rice Dream??????

  1. Tori says:

    Sorry but Rice Dream is NOT gluten-free. They say so on their website. They are allowed to label it as so, though, due to labeling laws that allow something to be called “gluten-free” even if there is a small amount of gluten in the product.
    http://gfcfblog.blogspot.com/2008/05/rice-dream-is-not-gluten-free.html

  2. Tori says:

    Hi there. I have done an updated, much more detailed post on this. It is here:
    http://gfcfblog.blogspot.com/2008/07/is-rice-dream-gluten-free.html

    Also, it’s interesting to note that on May 22, 2008, the Rice Dream website said it was NOT gluten-free, and then now (July 18, 2008), it says that it IS gluten-free.

    It’s all a matter of the Federal definition of gluten-free.

    For MY purposes (GFCFSF diet for my son), it is NOT gluten-free.

    Tori
    http://gfcfblog.blogspot.com/2008/07/is-rice-dream-gluten-free.html

  3. Alex says:

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

  4. Lisa says:

    Every May is Celiac Disease Awareness Month. Organizations, such as yourself have been the catalyst for such high awareness, but as you know this can not be the only time we think of this disease. Disease.com is dedicated to spreading the awareness for the Celiac Disease, causes, preventions, symptoms, and of course treatments. Through our disease profiles we have been able to work with several elite non-profit organizations. Now we want to work with you. If you could, please list us as a resource or host our social book mark button, it would be much appreciated. Let’s create a medical breakthrough, through established awareness.If you want more information on that please email me back with the subject line as your URL.

  5. Pingback: Is Rice Dream Gluten-free? « Gluten-Free Recipe Box

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s