Working at Home and Sick Days= Bad Combo!

So Hubby and K1 stayed home sick yesterday.  This proved challenging for my day of work.  I have yet to log a fully successful, 8 hour day.  I think the closet I have gotten is about 6.5 hours. 

 Much of the work I am doing requires that my environment is QUIET.  I have to speak on the phone with peeps.  The calls are recorded.  The peeps aren’t suppose to know we are working from home versus an office environment.  Of course, what office is quiet?  None…. but I don’t make the rules. 

When Daddy is home… it is NEVER quiet.  They can’t seem to grasp the concept that even talking in hushed voices still carries into the phone when they are in the same room as me.  My answer is to send the kids into another room with the mini DVD player and TeenGirl blocking the door so they can’t escape without warning me first!  Daddy lets them play Wii or whatever… carry on “whispered” conversations… etc.  That’s just not working in my world. 

The terrible part is I am currently stuck where I am working.  And the noise carries to my workspace.  Today I am sitting here waiting for the internet company to come move my connection.  As of right now… they are 4.5 hours late.  Surprise… Surprise.   Once the connection is moved, I will be able to put a couple of closed doors between me and everyone else while I am working.  That should make life a lot easier.  Initially we thought I would be able to do that anytime others would be home anyway… but because of technical difficulities it didn’t work out.  Normally it’s not a big deal because I am home all day by myself… but when Daddy and K1 both chose to stay home… I managed to work for about 2 hours!  Pathetic.

Guess who just knocked on the door?  The internet dude.  Yippee.  My connection will be moved and I will be snuggled behind LOCKED doors by the time everyone gets off the bus today.  Woohoo. 

Gotta Run.  Wish me luck!

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

