Kindness

This morning I stopped at the market after dropping the kiddos off at school.  Daddy is back from his trip overseas and is in dire need of Diet Rockstars. 

As I am standing in the checkout line with my (not so healthy selections), I notice the lady in front of me has several boxes of individual valentine type treats and a mylar balloon.  We live in a VERY small town (population about 600) so we are all friendly around here.  I struck up a conversation… it went something like this.

Me- “It looks like you are heading to the classroom with some Birthday goodies”

Other Mom- “Yep, but its not even my kid.”

Me- “Oh you got roped into it, huh?”

 Other Mom- “Well, her Mom sometimes forgets and I wanted to make sure she had something for the class.  So, I’ll take these up there and if her Mom sent something I figure they can go in the snack drawer at home…”

Me- “Wow, that’s REALLY nice of you.”

Other Mom- “I figure it’ll catch up someday”.

Me- “Well, if nothing else you are teaching your children about kindness.”

And we went on our way… it’s odd, this exchange choked me up.  How WONDERFUL that she was concerned for this little girl.  I often worry that there isn’t enough kindness out there… this reminded me that there are still small, random acts of kindness going on everywhere.   This made my day…. perhaps my week.  And it reminded me to keep looking for ways I can touch others lives.  The small things that often no one else notices… but in the grand scheme, they matter to ONE person.  That’s all that really matters.

I didn’t get the Mother’s name… so we parted strangers, and yet I will remember this exchange for a long time to come.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kindness

  1. jenefur says:

    What a wonderful person!

Leave a Reply

