Not All Fish Oils Are Created Equal

We decided to try the Lil Critters Omega 3 Supplements because they were so much more cost effective than the Nordic Naturals we started out on.

Heaven help us… that was a mistake!

Evidently not all fish oils are created equal.  Within a week of the switch we started noticing major behavior changes.   Ballet class was a struggle, K3 had her hands inside her skirt the entire time, twisting it, fidgeting, not paying attention.  Several times I had to restrain myself from running into the room and saying, “WHAT ARE YOU DOING?”  She is making noises ALL THE TIME.  She is all over the place, not focusing… not sitting still… there is almost no resemblence to the calm child we had a couple of weeks ago.   We are not seeing any signs of physical/health response, so I do not think this is food related.

I cannot find any other explaination for these changes.  We have not had any diet changes… the only thing we did was switch the Fish Oil supplements.   Saving $20 a bottle isn’t worth this!  I am pulling my hair out.   Tomorrow when the clinic opens, I am heading back for our Nordic Natural Fish Oil.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Supplemental Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Not All Fish Oils Are Created Equal

  1. Lucy says:

    In our family we take NutraSea omega-3 fish oil and it has done wonders for all of us including the children. Their product i believe is cheaper than that of Nordic Naturals and I find it better tasting and more effective. NutraSea is made by a company in Canada called Ascenta, they test every batch of product for quality and you can enter the batch number from your bottle on their webste http://www.ascentahealth.com and you will get a report on the quality of your very own product. Check them out www. ascentahealth.com . They are the most famous omega-3 fish oil in Canada and I have bought it in the US also. Lucy.

  2. Maureen says:

    can I ask how many she was taking? My son likes the taste of these. It is the first fish oil we have tried so I can’t compare. I am confused about what dosage to give him.

  3. looksgoodinpolkadots says:

    Update: K3 is back on Nordic Naturals DHA Jr., 4 capsules a day. It is already making a huge improvement. 🙂

  4. lynne says:

    Hi, I have been giving my son Nordic Naturals DHA (4 caps/day). WOW….it has truley helped with his digestion/inflamation!!! I’m telling everyone because I think every child could benefit in many ways. I’m even taking Omega – 3 myself.

  5. HealthFirst says:

    Absolutely. We love Nordic Naturals products so much that we decided to tell everyone about them and started to retail Nordic Naturals! Visit us and help us spread the word.

    Within our family, my husband uses it for being heart healthy, my mother-in-law uses it as anti-inflammatory for arthritis, and kids love Nordic Berries and Children’s Dha.

Leave a Reply

