Who Buys Mac?

So, I came across this article on MacDailyNews… one of my all time favorite spots to catch up to the minute news about Apple products.   Evidently, Mindset Media has released a Mindset Profile of Mac users.  Here is an excerpt, “The study, with a robust sample of 7,500 respondents, revealed that people who are highly open-minded or, in Mindset Media parlance, “Openness 5’s”, are 60 percent more likely than people in the general population to have purchased a Mac. These purchasers are also more liberal, less modest, and more assured of their own superiority than the population at large.”

I am definitely confident… does that correlate to a feeling of superiority?  Not so much.  I am fairly modest and not at all liberal.  Although I am Green… in a true sense of the word.  You won’t find me chained to a tree or marching for animal rights with PETA.  I will spread the word about living Green… and I will do my part to raise my family in that mindset. 

We are a mixed Catholic Christian family.  We attend both church services.  We are Republicans.  We recycle everything possible.  We buy all natural, organic and as often as possible, local products.  I don’t walk around my house undressed or cavort in public nudity.  I have an above average IQ and have a low tolerance for ignorance.  I married a man that is at least as smart as me (if not more so).  He calls himself a short haired hippy.  Maybe we are.  I am against abortion, I believe in large families, I believe in a greater good and that starting in my own little corner is the best way to create change. 

Do I fall into the Mac profile?  Perhaps not.  I do, however, adore my Macs and all Apple products. Read the entire article here: http://www.macdailynews.com/index.php/weblog/comments/16101/

I am interested in your Mac Profile.  Who buys a Mac?

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Being Green, Tech Me and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who Buys Mac?

  1. Meg says:

    Well I don’t know about the article and how it relates to me. Sure, I am open minded and fairly liberal. But I don’t walk around thinking I am superior. I am getting old, am pretty cool and laid back. I know I just want one!!

  2. Michael says:

    I hate these stereotypes. Is there any information about they conducted their survey? My politics are very mixed. I can be conservative or liberal depending on the specific issue. Usually, I am moderate. I do not have a religion, but I’m not militant about it.

    There does seem to be an ideological bias to this report, because it equates “liberal” with “open-minded”. My experience is that these are opposites (just like “conservative and open-minded” are).

    I switched to Mac, like quite a few people, mostly because it based on Unix. I have a lot of experience with Unix. It is much more secure and more reliable. And it gives me a very advanced command line interface with a lot of useful software.

    I am not one of those dogmatic people who thinks: “command line is always better” or “GUI is always better.” It depends on the specific task. If I can make it easier by writing my own little program (usually in Perl), it takes a fraction of the time to write it for a command line.

Leave a Reply

