Local Sustainabililty

I found a fabulous little book laying around the break room at my office the other day. It is called “The Chinook Book”.  I have eyeballed the brightly colored cover on multiple occassions, but honestly, I never felt the compulsion to pick it up.  I thought it was “just” another directory of restaurants like the Entertainment Book and I really wasn’t interested in wasting $20.   On Friday, I was chillin in the break room (which I never do, normally the laptop and I go sit in the local coffee shop, sip a mocha and use the wifi) and I decided to thumb through the pages.  Much to my surprise, this little book was a plethora of resources and coupons I would actually use.  It is produced by Eco Metro… where green is local.

This little book has coupons for natural grocers on some of the products I purchase most (Like Clif Bars, Ecos,  Dr. Oetkers, Natures Path, EnviroKidz… it contains coupons for gDiapers, (www.gDiapers.com) which in my opionion are AMAZING).   I even located a coupon for 50% off a bakery item at the fabulous local bakery (www.pieceofcakebakery.net) that makes GLUTEN FREE cakes.  I intend to use this for my daughters birthday party coming up in April (Normally I make all of our birthday party goods… but the schools do not allow homemade treats!).  I was quickly able to decide that the $20 price tag more than paid for itself (just the birthday cake savings add up to about $40!).

 Check out www.EcoMetro.com to see if there is a fabulous guide like this for your area.  And support LOCAL SUSTAINABILITY.  Because being green matters.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Being Green, GF Shopping and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Local Sustainabililty

  1. Meg says:

    Thanks for the link to EcoMetro! The Twin Cities is listed and has a ton of great places/coupons that our family will certainly use, especially the St. Paul and Minneapolis farmers markets.

Leave a Reply

