Out of PICU!

Last night TeenGirl moved out of PICU after five days and onto the HEMOC (Hematology/Oncology) floor at the Children’s Hospital.  She is doing MUCH better.  It really is surprising how quickly she is rebounding.  SEPSIS is not something one wants to play with.

Yesterday morning there was some concern about the possibility of lingering neurological effects.  TeenGirl wasn’t staying awake… and wasn’t communicative when she was.  A CT scan was done and came out clear.  The Neuro talked about doing an MRI to look for swelling, but over the next few hours there was a lot of improvement so that has been put off.  She has only been out of bed once in an attempt to go the the restroom and is on a liquid only diet… but she has come a long way from where we were on Sunday.

I have no clue at this time what the next couple of weeks will look like for us.  TeenGirl will be on the IV antibiotics for 14 days.  Vancomycin is not a nice antibiotic and contributed to her renal failure during a previous hospital stay, so I don’t know if they will let her come home with an IV pump or if she will spend that entire time in the hospital where she can be monitored closely.

I took her new ProductRED iPod to her last night.  She even smiled a tiny smile when I gave it to her.  That was a great sign!  Now that she is awake I have given her all the electronic/fun toys for her to play with there.  For some reason, being such a sick kid she gets exempted from the no handheld video games, etc… she got a DS, Digital Camera, Razr Phone and an iPod all in the last couple of months.  It sucks having to spend your entire freshman year in the hospital with no friends and no normal activities.  At least these items help her pass the time.

She also does a lot of beading. I have her working on a project of bracelets that contain red beads.  We will be posting them on eBay and putting the money toward our annual ALS fundraiser.  This project helps TeenGirl take her mind off her own illness and focus on doing something to help our Moms fight.

TeenGirl keeps saying she wants to learn to sew.  Yikes.  I just don’t have the energy right now!  Lol.  It would be so much easier if I had a dedicated room for all my crafting projects, as it is now I have to lug the sewing machine and all the crap out everytime I want to work on something… which means I don’t do it nearly as often as I like to!  Maybe I will be able to find her some sewing workshops when she gets healthier. 🙂

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Kids and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Out of PICU!

  1. marykaylady says:

    Hope she gets better soon. I spent my 8th grade year in the hospital. It was horrible. Lucky for me I didn’t get held back. I actually was placed in 9th grade even though I didn’t attend my 8th grade year!

    Do they know what is wrong with her or is this the mysterious disease you were talking about on your tab page?

Leave a Reply

