Christmas Morning and Flopped Cinnamon Rolls

Mum and Daddy wrote a letter to Santa requesting a visit to our house on the night of the 23rd instead of the 24th.  The kids would be with their other parent on the 25th and we didn’t want to miss out. 🙂  The kiddos all thought this was a GREAT idea.

I decided to make cinnamon rolls the night of the 23rd, put them in the fridge and have them ready to bake for Christmas breakfast… or not.

The recipe I used only called for starches, no other flours.  I found this a bit odd as I have been baking for a long time and while new to GF baking I know that starches need another flour stabilizer.  I looked at the recipe many times trying to decide if this was going to work. 

The glob I ended up with was a MESS.  It was so sticky that it couldn’t be rolled out even with the use of plastic wrap.  I followed the recipe exactly, so I can’t blame attempted subsitutions for the disaster.   Finally, I decided to put the whole mess in the fridge overnight and see if it would be easier to roll out in the morning. 

And on we went to get ready for Santa.  Snickerdoodles on a plate, stockings hung, oats on the porch for the Reindeer… off to bed with visions of sugarplums in our heads (okay, what modern day kid dreams of sugarplums, more likely dreams of video games and expensive new toys dance in their heads).

The kiddos had instructions to come wake us up before they hit the presents in the morning.  So about 6:30 AM the crew were at our door chanting, “get up, get up, get up!”.

The amount of gifts under our tree was DISGUSTING.  We made a vow to not go crazy this year, but when you take gifts for seven (plus one dog and one cat) and add the gifts from Nana and Papa… well, it was overwhelming.

After the crew was done ripping the packages open, I padded into the kitchen and gave another go at the cinnamon rolls.  After chilling in the fridge overnight, it was a bit easier to roll the dough out (mind you, I say a bit easier).  I ended up one pan of rolls instead of the original two because so much of the dough was lost in the disaster.   Hubby decided to run to the market and get some danishes to go with the rolls.  I baked the completed rolls for the stated 20 minutes.  They looked done, but they were sticky, doughy inside.  Luckily, K3 thought they were pretty good (she is the GF one) and was okay eating the non-doughy ones.  I thought they tasted terrible as did everyone else.  So I am now on a mission to find a good cinnamon roll recipe.  I will not give up until I find one.

Other than the not so fabulous cinnamon rolls, our Christmas was quite fabulous.  Everyone was happy with their gifts and spent a good part of the morning PLAYING NICELY TOGETHER. 🙂

Oh and did I mention that Mommy received the most fabulous gift?  More on that later.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

