Cheater Cheater Cookie Maker

Did I mention how busy of a Mommy I am?  Mixed into my “regular” life (the one that entails a fulltime job and raising five kids), I do things like spending a full day at the children’s hospital with TeenGirl so she can have her treatments.  When I am not doing normal things or managing TeenGirls medical world, I am on the phone and/or email with various insurance/medical/ state agencies trying to work things out regarding my Mother who happens to have a terminal illness.  Oh, yeah, I am busy.

That said, I still have to find time to feed my crew which includes my five year old who is intolerant of Wheat, Gluten, Milk and Whey.  I would LOVE to spend hours baking all kinds of fun and delightful foods.  That said, I rarely have the time to exude my baking/cooking creativity.

K3 needed cookies for the school Christmas party.   I wanted to make fabulous sugar cookies to send.  I also had to make her frostings and package up all kinds of toppings.   I cheated.  Here is what I did…

Purchased 1 Gluten Free/Dairy Free Cake Mix

Mixed said mix with 1/2 Soy Yogurt, 1/4 c. canola oil and 1 egg. 

Dropped by spoonfuls onto wax paper lined baking stone.

Baked at 350 degrees for about 12 mins, let sit on pan for a couple more and then moved to cooling racks.

I then sprinkled half of them w/ powder sugar and left the others plain for decorating.

For frosting- (keep in mind I don’t really measure exactly!)

about 2 Tbs. soy margarine

about 2 Tbs. vanilla soy milk

1 tsp vanilla extract

Blend until smooth and creamy

Add powder sugar slowly, until desired consistency is obtained.

And guess what… the batter was fabulous… everyone was amazed that this was GF.  And the cookies are yummy.

I cheat in other ways as well… like making our regular dinners and substituting the pasta with rice pasta for K3 and keeping GF corndogs and taquitos in the freezer for those times we are in need of a quick food.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Gluten Free Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

