A Day in the Life

Let’s face it, y’all think my life is pretty darn spiffy.  Afterall, I am am witty (well, sort of anyway),  good looking (who says a Mom of 4 + TeenGirl can’t be HOT?), have GREAT hair, a pretty good job, one fabulous husband and some pretty remarkable (naughty, obnoxious, mouthy, loving, cute, adorable) children.

The reality is… (insert drum roll, or other appropriate, impending doom soundtrack here)… there are days I want to pull my hair out and SCREAM at the top of my (large capacity) lungs.

My Mother, the woman who gave me life.  The reason I exist, the person I learned how to be a Mom from (via the things she did RIGHT and the mistakes she made)… yes, that imperfect, wonderful, loving woman is DIEING.  I hate this disease.  I have spent HOURS upon hours on the phone and email with PEOPLE WHO DON’T CARE, trying to figure out Medicaid, Disability Services, Social Security, Home Health Care, etc…

TeenGirl is starting a treatment called Rituximab today.  It’s kind of like chemo… only different.  She will go in once a week for four weeks and have a drip infusion through her central line.  Sounds like a hoot.  Let’s hope she doesn’t have side effects like chemo.  I don’t like it.  Our medical team (which consists of no less than 20 incredibly intelligent people) are convinced this is our best option.  So, we march on.

 Did I mention those kids drove me batty yesterday?  Oh, yes they did.  All I asked was for decent behavior for an hour while I put together the PTC bulletin board after school.  Heaven forbid that they could play quietly in the hallway.  Evidently, once school is out… we forget all the rules about not running (or yelling and screaming) in the halls.  By the time we loaded up for the seven minute drive home I was ready to lock them in their rooms. 

 Instead, they washed dishes and put laundry away (while wanting to play XBox, Ummmm…. I think NOT!).

I asked TeenGirl to throw some Taquitos and Tots in the oven so I could dash to Target to pick up her meds (which we forget to refill and she has therefore been PUKING from withdrawal).

Did I mention hubby was passed over for his (well deserved) promotion?  Yep, so he was in a stellar mood as well.  The promotion will happen.  Maybe in a month… definitely within six.  He wanted it now.  ‘Nuff said.

About PolkaDotMommy

Wife to a teacher extraordinaire... Mama to Five littles... Conservative Catholic Christian with a Strong Environmentalist Mentality... Respecting Life... Living for our Savior... Learning to trust God in all things.
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Day in the Life

  1. Welcome to the world of Bureaucratic collectivism. It only gets worse though when we get national healthcare and the host of entitlements the Dems are planning. What happened to liberty and personal autonomy?

Leave a Reply

